Sonic Rendezvous B2B site Retail prices available after log in.

1 result  


After 4 albums with El Goodo, Welsh psych scene stalwart Pixy Jones has himself compiled a truly remarkable collection of tracks that fluctuate from 60's harmony-rich psych pop, to Alt-Country with ringing tremelo guitar. The swaggering 'I'm Not There' is the first single to be taken from 'Bits n Bobs' accompanied by a magical version of Beatles track 'And Your Bird Can Sing' as it's B SIde, which will be released digitally on Friday 1st of July.Pixy had this to say about the release: The album was originally intended as a solo project under the pseudonym of "Wallace Russell". I recorded it alongside the recording of Zombie (El Goodo) whenever I could get in the studio. There are some really old songs that have always been overlooked for 'El Goodo' albums for one reason or another, a few new ones which I wrote specifically for this, and a couple that would have probably ended up on the intended double album version of Zombie if wed kept going with the double album idea. Ive since ditched the 'Wallace Russell' name and gone back to 'Pixy Jones' as I figured theres no need to have a pseudonym if nobody knows who you are in the first place. Even though I dropped the name Ive kept the walrus mask for now as it is more photogenic than my actual face.I had no recording budget so I had to fund it by quitting smoking and saving the money up to pay for studio time. It took, I think, two and a half years to record, which is by far the quickest Ive ever recorded an album. Originally I wanted it to just be a quickly recorded slap dash and get it out sort of thing but I had a year and a half during Covid to think about it a bit more and ended up taking more care to get it done properly. It was just me there so I played most of it myself apart from Stephen Black (Sweet Baboo) who played brass and woodwind on one song and Rhodri Brooks (AhGeeBe) plays some pedal steel on a couple. Elliott and Canny from 'El Goodo' played drums and bass on Wind Street during the Zombie recording sessions.

TRACKLISTING: 01. Im Not There 02. I Got Lost 03. Hold Your Tongue 04. Confusion 05. Bad Throat 06. The Fool 07. Through The Valley 08. Maureen Dreams No More 09. Theres Something Wrong 10. Im Coming Home 11. After Dark 12. Wind Street 13. Dewch Draw

Format: LP

Disc Quantity: 1
Release date: 16-09-2022
Item # : 557677     NEW
Availability: 2/3 WEEKS, NOT IN STOCK

Back to top

© 2002 - 2023 Sonic RendezVous